top of page

DSCTA Chair Elected Member of IFTR Executive Committee

October 18, 2022

Prof. Sir Anril Pineda Tiatco was elected as an Executive Committee member of the International Federation for Theatre Research (IFTR). The voting period for elections to the Executive Committee started in August 2022 and ended on 14 October.


Tiatco’s membership in the IFTR began in 2008. He started as a New Scholar. He received three bursary awards to attend the federation’s conference – in 2011 (Osaka), 2013 (Barcelona) and 2016 (Stockholm). In 2014, he joined the Asian Theatre Working Group and in 2021, he was elected as the Working Group’s co-convener, vice of Prof. Yasushi Nagata (Osaka University). In June 2022, Prof. Nagata handed over the leadership of the head convener to Tiatco during the IFTR World Congress held in Reykjavik, Iceland.


Tiatco convened the first transregional IFTR conference in 2018. In 2022, he also organized the 14th Asian Theatre Working Group International Colloquium held online.


In his nomination statement, his vision is “to be a vital instrument in helping IFTR in its transformation as a vessel that empowers its members to be more effective and accessible to its internal and external publics by way of ‘disruptions’ – the construction of more groundbreaking critical and creative spaces for theatre research.”


Tiatco as convener of the IFTR- Transregional Conference in 2018


Tiatco in IFTR 2019 in Shanghai

Joining Tiatco in the Executive Committee are  Bishnupriya Dutt (Jawaharlal Nehru University), elected president; Milena Grass Kleiner (Pontifical Catholic University of Chile) and Maria Delgado (Royal Central School of Speech and Drama University of London), elected vice presidents; Yana Meerzon (University of Ottawa), Ameet Parameswaran (Jawaharlal Nehru University), Milija Gluhovic (University of Warwick), Ekua Ekumah (University of Ghana), and Patrick Lonergan (National University of Ireland), elected regular members; and Priyanka Pathak (Jawaharlal Nehru University), elected student member.


Tiatco’s term commences during the IFTR’s coference in Accra, Ghana on 23 July 2023.

Read more:


Tiatco in IFTR 2022 in Reykjavik

bottom of page